Evaluation & evidence

    Agent Governance Statistics: A Denominator and Evidence Audit (2025–2026)

    Enterprise AI-agent statistics are being repeated faster than their definitions. A percentage from a breach-only sample becomes a percentage of all enterprises. Platform telemetry becomes “daily use.” A forecast of agents “in use” becomes agents “in production.” An average number of projects becomes a universal number of agents. This audit traces several widely cited 2025–2026 claims back to their primary sources, recording the population, sample or telemetry window, denominator, source wording, common misreading, and citation language that preserves what the evidence actually shows. These are useful signals, not interchangeable benchmarks.

    Author
    Implement Agentic Research
    Published
    Published · Updated
    Reading time
    15 min read
    Data currency
    Primary-source review current through 2026-08-10

    Key findings

    • IBM’s 13% and 97% figures use nested denominators. The 2025 Cost of a Data Breach research covered 600 organizations that had experienced a data breach. Thirteen percent reported a breach of an AI model or application. The 97% figure applies only to that AI-compromised subgroup—not to all organizations and not even to the full breach sample.
    • Microsoft’s “over 80%” figure is platform-specific telemetry. It covers Fortune 500 organizations deploying active agents built with Microsoft Copilot Studio or Agent Builder. “Active” required production deployment and at least one user engagement or autonomous run within a 28-day November 2025 window. It does not establish daily use.
    • Gartner’s 150,000-agent number is a forecast, not an observed count. Gartner predicts that by 2028 an average global Fortune 500 enterprise will have more than 150,000 agents “in use,” up from fewer than 15 in 2025. The public release does not disclose the underlying forecast model, and “in use” should not be rewritten as “in production.”
    • Omdia measured projects, not agents. Its BeyondTrust-commissioned survey of 400 North American IT and cybersecurity professionals found an average of 22 AI-agent projects among surveyed organizations; the source notes that many projects involve multiple agents. The fieldwork ran January 7–15, 2026.
    • Bottom line: preserve the population, date, unit, denominator, and observation-versus-forecast status whenever you cite one of these numbers.

    Comparison & evidence

    Each row preserves the originating organization’s own wording, sample or telemetry scope, and sponsorship. Percentages are not combined across rows.

    The evidence at a glance: widely repeated AI-agent governance claims, their actual populations and denominators, and safe citation language
    Widely repeated claimAudit statusActual population and denominatorCommon misreadingSafe short citation
    IBM: 13% AI breach; 97% without access controlsVerified, nested denominator600 organizations globally that experienced a data breach; 97% applies only to the AI-compromised subset“97% of enterprises lack AI access controls”Among IBM’s 600-organization breach sample, 13% reported an AI model/application breach; of that subgroup, 97% reported no AI access controls.
    Microsoft: over 80% of the Fortune 500Verified, platform telemetryFortune 500 organizations represented in Microsoft telemetry; active Copilot Studio or Agent Builder agents in a 28-day November 2025 window“80% use agents daily across their operations”Microsoft reported that more than 80% of the Fortune 500 deployed an active low-code/no-code agent in its measured ecosystem during the window.
    Microsoft: 47% have controlsVerified, survey scope1,725 data-security leaders surveyed July 16–August 11, 2025“Only 47% have formal AI-agent controls”In Microsoft’s survey, 47% reported that their organizations were implementing specific generative-AI security controls.
    Gartner: more than 150,000 by 2028Sourceable forecast; public method incompleteForecast per average global Fortune 500 enterprise; baseline and forecast are agent counts “in use”“150,000 production agents is an observed trajectory”Gartner predicted in April 2026 that an average global Fortune 500 enterprise would have more than 150,000 agents in use by 2028.
    Omdia: average 22 projectsVerified, commissioned survey400 North American IT/cybersecurity professionals involved with identity-security products or services“Every organization has 22 agents”A BeyondTrust-commissioned Omdia survey found an average of 22 distinct AI-agent projects among surveyed organizations.
    CSA: 82% unknown agents; 65% incidentsVerified, commissioned survey418 IT/security professionals surveyed online in January 2026“82% currently have an unidentified agent running”In a Token-commissioned CSA survey, 82% reported discovering a previously unknown agent and 65% an agent-related incident in the prior year.
    Download the accompanying fact-check dataset below for the field dates, scope notes and source URLs behind every row.

    Documented examples of claim drift

    This is not a hypothetical problem. Current coverage has converted IBM’s nested 97% into a general organizational rate in ITPro, described Microsoft’s 28-day activity measure as use in “daily operations” in another ITPro article, changed Gartner’s “in use” forecast to “in production” in TechRadar, and converted Omdia’s sample average into “every organization” in Dark Reading. These examples establish the need for a citation-safe source card; they are not used as evidence for the underlying statistics.

    • ITPro, on IBM’s nested 97%: https://www.itpro.com/security/enterprises-are-adopting-agents-faster-than-they-can-secure-and-govern-them-experts-warn-its-a-disaster-waiting-to-happen
    • ITPro, on Microsoft’s 28-day measure as “daily operations”: https://www.itpro.com/security/observability-will-be-key-to-agentic-ai-safety-says-microsoft-security-exec
    • TechRadar, converting Gartner’s “in use” to “in production”: https://www.techradar.com/pro/agentic-ais-crossroads-guardrails-or-massive-fails
    • Dark Reading, converting Omdia’s sample average into “every organization”: https://www.darkreading.com/identity-access-management-security/ai-agents-new-kind-identity-most-organizations-not-ready

    Why denominator errors change the conclusion

    A denominator is the population to which a percentage applies. In governance research, there are often two or three nested populations. IBM’s 2025 research population was 600 organizations that had experienced a data breach; within it, 13% reported an AI model or application breach; within that subgroup, 97% reported no AI access controls.

    Dropping the first level turns a breach-sample statistic into a claim about all enterprises. Dropping the second turns a conditional 97% into a general control-coverage rate. Neither transformation is supported.

    The same discipline applies to units. A project is not an agent, one run in a month is not daily use, a forecast is not telemetry, and “in use” is broader than “in production.”

    Evidence card 1: IBM’s 13% and 97% breach statistics

    Primary source: IBM’s July 30, 2025 release for the Cost of a Data Breach Report.

    Population and period: Ponemon Institute conducted the research, while IBM sponsored and analyzed it. The sample comprised 600 organizations globally that experienced data breaches from March 2024 through February 2025.

    What the source supports: Within that breach sample, 13% reported a breach of an AI model or application; 8% said they did not know whether such a compromise had occurred. Among the AI-compromised subgroup, 97% reported that they had no AI access controls in place.

    What it does not support: It is not a prevalence estimate for AI breaches across all organizations. It does not show that 97% of enterprises lack controls. It also does not prove that absent access controls caused the breach. The release reports that 60% of AI-related incidents involved compromised data and 31% operational disruption, but the observational design cannot establish the counterfactual—what would have happened to otherwise identical organizations with controls.

    Citation-safe sentence: “Among 600 organizations in IBM’s 2025 global data-breach sample, 13% reported a breach of an AI model or application; among that subset, 97% reported no AI access controls.”

    For buyer decisions, measure your own nested funnel: known AI systems → non-human identities → privileged access → effective controls → incidents and impacts.

    Evidence card 2: Microsoft’s over-80% Fortune 500 statistic

    Primary source: Microsoft Cyber Pulse: An AI Security Report, published February 10, 2026.

    Measurement window and scope: Microsoft used first-party telemetry for agents built with Copilot Studio or Microsoft Agent Builder that were in use during the final 28 days of November 2025. The source defines an active agent as deployed to production with at least one user engagement for an assistive agent or one autonomous run for an autonomous agent during the window.

    What the source supports: Microsoft reports that more than 80% of Fortune 500 organizations were deploying active low-code/no-code agents in that measured ecosystem.

    Common overstatement: “Eighty percent use AI agents in daily operations.” One event in 28 days satisfies the threshold; the source does not quantify daily frequency, materiality, outcomes, or use outside the measured products.

    Citation-safe sentence: “Microsoft reported that more than 80% of the Fortune 500 deployed an active low-code/no-code agent built with Copilot Studio or Agent Builder during a 28-day November 2025 telemetry window.”

    This shows broad platform reach, not scaled autonomous work every day.

    Evidence card 3: Microsoft’s 47% control and 29% unsanctioned-use figures

    The same Microsoft report combines its telemetry with a separate 25-minute online survey conducted July 16–August 11, 2025, among 1,725 data-security leaders, plus ten one-hour interviews in the United States and United Kingdom.

    Microsoft reports that 47% were implementing specific generative-AI security controls. That is not complete or formal agent governance: implementation can be unfinished, “specific” is not comprehensive, and GenAI includes more than agents.

    Microsoft also gives a 29% employee unsanctioned-use estimate. Because the disclosed sample is data-security leaders—not employees—the attribution and respondent population must stay attached.

    Citation-safe sentence: “In Microsoft’s July–August 2025 survey of 1,725 data-security leaders, 47% reported implementing specific GenAI security controls; the report also attributed unsanctioned agent use by employees to that research.”

    Do not combine the 80%, 47% and 29% figures into a single implied funnel. One is platform telemetry; the others arise from survey research, and they measure different concepts.

    Evidence card 4: Gartner’s 150,000-agent forecast

    Primary source: Gartner’s April 28, 2026 agent-sprawl release.

    Gartner predicts that by 2028 an average global Fortune 500 enterprise will have more than 150,000 agents in use, up from fewer than 15 in 2025. The public release also says only 13% of organizations think they have the right agent governance in place.

    The forecast is sourceable, but the public release does not disclose model inputs, agent taxonomy, sampling, or calculation. Its 13% governance statement also lacks public sample and fieldwork details. Both can be attributed; neither is independently reproducible from the release.

    Common overstatement: changing “in use” to “in production.” Do not treat the forecast as a current count or calculate a precise multiple from open-ended values.

    Citation-safe sentence: “Gartner predicted in April 2026 that an average global Fortune 500 enterprise would have more than 150,000 agents in use by 2028, compared with fewer than 15 in 2025.”

    Evidence card 5: Omdia’s average of 22 AI-agent projects

    Primary sources: the BeyondTrust research page and its Omdia report PDF.

    BeyondTrust commissioned the study. Omdia surveyed 400 IT and cybersecurity professionals from private- and public-sector organizations in North America from January 7–15, 2026. Respondents had to be involved with or responsible for identity-security products and services; respondents received incentives.

    The study found that surveyed organizations were in the middle of 22 distinct AI-agent projects on average. The source explicitly notes that many projects involve multiple agents.

    Common overstatements: “Every organization has 22 projects” and “the average enterprise has 22 agents.” The sample is role-qualified and North American, the unit is a project, and an average does not reveal the distribution.

    Citation-safe sentence: “A January 2026 Omdia survey commissioned by BeyondTrust found an average of 22 AI-agent projects among 400 North American IT and cybersecurity professionals’ organizations.”

    Evidence card 6: CSA’s 82% visibility and 65% incident figures

    Primary source: the Cloud Security Alliance release and methodology.

    Token Security commissioned and financed the study and co-developed the questionnaire with CSA analysts. CSA surveyed 418 IT and security professionals online in January 2026 across organizations of varied sizes and locations.

    The precise wording is that 82% reported discovering a previously unknown agent during the prior year; 41% said this happened multiple times. Separately, 65% reported at least one agent-related incident. These are self-reports, not telemetry proving an agent remained unknown at survey time.

    Citation-safe sentence: “In a January 2026 CSA survey commissioned by Token Security, 82% of 418 IT and security respondents reported discovering a previously unknown agent, and 65% reported an agent-related incident, in the prior year.”

    What enterprise buyers should do with these statistics

    External statistics should prioritize questions; answers have to be measured inside your own environment. NIST’s software-agent identity and authority work emphasizes identification, authorization, auditing and non-repudiation, and OWASP’s Top 10 for Agentic Applications provides a practical risk taxonomy.

    • Define the unit before establishing a baseline. Maintain separate counts for projects, logical agents, deployed versions, runtime instances, identities, credentials, tools and workflows. A single “number of agents” field is rarely sufficient.
    • Separate exposure, controls, incidents and outcomes. Do not combine discovered agents, control coverage, incidents and impact in one percentage column.
    • Add denominator metadata to every metric. Record population, data owner, field period, definition, platform coverage and exclusions. That is as important as the number itself.
    • Treat forecasts as scenarios. Gartner’s projection can inform capacity planning, but it is not a 2026 inventory or license benchmark.
    • Require evidence cards in procurement. Ask vendors and consultants for the survey instrument, sample, sponsor, field dates, weighting, definitions and source URL behind every statistic used in a proposal.
    • Build governance around your own observable estate, using NIST’s identity and authority concept paper (https://www.nccoe.nist.gov/news-insights/new-concept-paper-identity-and-authority-software-agents) and the OWASP Top 10 for Agentic Applications (https://genai.owasp.org/resource/owasp-top-10-for-agentic-applications-for-2026/).

    Download the data

    Machine-readable CSV files behind the tables above. Cite this page as the source.

    Methodology

    • We reviewed public primary-source releases, methodology sections and reports available through August 10, 2026.
    • “Verified” requires published wording from the originating organization or commissioned research partner.
    • Secondary coverage identifies misreadings but does not establish a result.
    • Sponsorship, commissioning party and platform scope are recorded for every claim.
    • Claims without a discoverable primary source are marked unverified and not repeated as fact.

    Limitations

    • Verification does not imply universal representativeness. Surveys may be self-reported, sponsored, role-qualified or geographically limited.
    • Telemetry is platform-bound, forecasts may use undisclosed models, and rounded percentages should not be reverse-engineered into exact counts.
    • No observational result is treated as proof of causation. We restate causal wording as association unless a causal design is disclosed.
    • One large-scale forecast in current coverage was excluded because we could not verify an accessible primary report and method.

    Sources

    1. IBM report: 13% of organizations reported breaches of AI models or applications, 97% of which reported lacking proper AI access controls (opens in a new tab)IBM (research conducted by Ponemon Institute) · 2025-07-30Cited for: Population, period and the nested AI-breach denominator behind the 13%, 97%, 60% and 31% figures.
    2. Cyber Pulse: An AI Security Report (opens in a new tab)Microsoft · 2026-02-10Cited for: Telemetry definitions behind the over-80% Fortune 500 figure and the Data Security Index methodology behind the 47% and 29% figures.
    3. Gartner Identifies Six Steps to Manage AI Agent Sprawl (opens in a new tab)Gartner · 2026-04-28Cited for: The more-than-150,000-agents-by-2028 forecast and the 13% governance statement.
    4. Omdia: AI Agents and Identity Security (research overview) (opens in a new tab)BeyondTrust · 2026-03Cited for: Research overview for the BeyondTrust-commissioned Omdia study.
    5. AI Agents and Identity Security: How Enterprises Are Rewriting the Rules (PDF) (opens in a new tab)Omdia, commissioned by BeyondTrust · 2026-03-19Cited for: The average of 22 distinct AI-agent projects, the 400-respondent sample, qualification rules and January 7–15, 2026 field dates.
    6. New Cloud Security Alliance survey reveals 82% of enterprises have unknown AI agents in their environments (opens in a new tab)Cloud Security Alliance (commissioned by Token Security) · 2026-04-21Cited for: The 82% visibility and 65% incident figures, the 418-respondent sample and survey-method details.
    7. New concept paper: Identity and authority for software agents (opens in a new tab)NIST NCCoECited for: Identification, authorization, auditing and non-repudiation guidance referenced in the buyer recommendations.
    8. OWASP Top 10 for Agentic Applications (2026) (opens in a new tab)OWASP GenAI Security ProjectCited for: Risk taxonomy referenced in the buyer recommendations.

    Frequently asked

    Do 97% of organizations lack AI access controls?
    No. IBM’s 97% applies only to the subgroup within its breach sample that reported compromise of an AI model or application. The top-level research population was 600 organizations that had experienced a data breach.
    Are more than 80% of Fortune 500 companies using agents every day?
    Microsoft’s source does not establish daily use. Its active-agent definition required production deployment and at least one user engagement or autonomous run during a 28-day November 2025 window, within two Microsoft low-code/no-code agent products.
    Will the average Fortune 500 company have 150,000 production agents by 2028?
    Gartner’s public wording is a forecast of more than 150,000 agents in use, not necessarily in production. The public release does not disclose the underlying forecasting model.
    Does the average enterprise have 22 AI agents?
    That is not what the Omdia study measured. It found an average of 22 AI-agent projects among organizations represented by a role-qualified North American survey sample. Many projects involved multiple agents.
    Can these statistics be compared in one trend line?
    Not directly. They mix a breach-only study, vendor-platform telemetry, respondent surveys, projects, incidents and an analyst forecast. A valid comparison first normalizes the population, unit, time window and maturity definition.
    What should a citation for an AI-governance statistic include?
    At minimum: source organization, publication date, field date or telemetry window, sample or platform scope, measured unit, denominator, sponsor, and whether the result is observed or forecast.

    Related reading

    Apply the evidence discipline to your own agent portfolio.

    Bring us one agent list, identity export, workflow inventory—or the spreadsheet your teams already use. In an AI Workflow Assessment, Implement Agentic will help define the units, owners, permissions, approval points and outcome measures needed before you scale. The first conversation is free and focused on whether the workflow is a fit, not on selling a platform.

    Book an AI Workflow Assessment

    ← Back to the research library